We are delighted to announce the release of Norwegian alternative pop sensation Kalandra debut full-length album The Line on October 23rd!

Kalandra have amassed over 1.9 million views on YouTube with their cover of Wardruna’s “Helvegen” (released as a digital single on By Norse Music in March 2020), self-released two acclaimed singles “Brave New World” and “The Waiting Game” (details below) and have composed two tracks for the HBO Nordic series “Beforeigners.

The Line will be available as:

  • 2LP gatefold limited solid white edition – By Norse Music online store exclusive, limited to 100 copies
  • 2LP gatefold black edition
  • CD digipak
  • Digital formats

Pre-order all physical formats, exclusive bundles and merchandise in the By Norse Music online store

Pre-save and pre-order the album on digital formats here:

Weaving ethereal melodies into raw and eerie musical landscapes, Kalandra delivers a powerful blend of alternative pop and rock that will enchant fans of Aurora, Eivør, Röyksopp, Goldfrapp and Björk.

The band comments on the album: “An album years in the making. Written in a period of our lives which has been subject to a lot of change and introspection. The songs are reflections of the conflicting emotions that come with growth. The feelings of wonder, anger, loss and acceptance at watching both your own life and the world around you unfold. The Line talks about those different boundaries we come across in life. Be it mental barriers, lines on a map or the walls we put up between ourselves. Life can be a wondrous and terrible thing but we’ve found that ’Somewhere along the line, it gets easier.”

* * * 

Kalandra releases today two live videos for the songs “Brave New World” and “The Waiting Game”!

“Brave New World” was recorded at Gildehallen, Borren (NO) in June 2020.
Kalandra comments:  “Here’s an outtake of Brave New World from the live stream we hosted this summer at Gildehallen at Borre in Norway (June 2020) together with Valkyrien Productions and the team of Midgardsblot. We hope you enjoy this performance as much as we did playing it. The hall was absolutely incredible to perform in and we’re so excited to come back to perform it again as part of Midgardsblot Festival in 2021!”

“The Waiting Game” was recorded at Sentrum Scene, Olso (NO) in 2019.
The band adds: “This is a live performance of The Waiting Game from Sentrum Scene in Oslo in 2019 when we were supporting the Norwegian goth-rock band Seigmen on tour around Norway. The thought of stepping onto the stage with this first song in our set in front of Seigmen’s audience was daunting, however as soon as we started playing we felt the welcoming warmth from the audience, and the rest of the evening was just a blast.”

Both songs were released by Kalandra in 2018 and 2019, and are available for streaming/download on the usual platforms.

* * *

Norwegian shows announced!

Kalandra will perform a series of Norwegian shows this fall! Find all the dates below:

September 19th 2020 – Rockeklubben i Porsgrunn, Porsgrunn (NO)
October 2nd 2020 – Folken, Stavanger (NO)
October 30th 2020 – Salt, Oslo (NO)
November 28th 2020 – Sekkefabrikken, Slemmestad (NO)